A conversation with Donald // Direction

So, about a year ago I had a conversation with an author named Donald Miller. An author whom I have grown to really love and respect (who also has a great blog that I love to follow). During this time I was quite frustrated with life because I had NO idea as to what direction to take in life. So, after the typical ” I love your books, there really inspiring…..” I asked him a question. I simply said Donald I have no idea what direction I want to go with my life, I don’t know what God wants me to do, I am completely stuck. For some reason I thought “okay, this is it, he’s gonna tell me the best advice about how to figure out what God wants me to do”. So I had my journal in hand ready to write.” but his response was not something I quite wanted to hear or was expecting  “Well, what do you want, what do you desire?” I stood there staring at him completely confused ( In my mind I was thinking, wait what does this have to do with me?)and I finally answered “well,I don’t know” and then he answered “well maybe you should start there”

There is a quote that says”We must be who God created us to be before we can do what God is calling us to do.”

After that conversation, I started to view life a little bit differently. I no longer ignore my passions/ desires, instead I embrace them because it’s what makes me unique. God created me with a purpose, so by ignoring all those things and trying to follow the path I thought I should follow I was almost hindering myself from being the person God created me to be.  I used to think that because I did not have the desire to open an orphanage in Africa or to become a Pastor that there was something wrong with me. But I’m learning that following Gods’ will is about allowing God to use us as we are, not as we think we should be.  Maybe one day those desires will come but for now I am embracing who I am and the gifts I feel God has given me. And in doing so I have seen God open doors of ministry that I did not even know existed .  While at the same time having some doors close, knowing that there are some things I should not be focusing on.

As long as I know that my heart is in the right place and that my desire is to do the will of God, then I know the rest will follow.

I’m seeking after God,letting him lead me and in turn I am discovering who I am and my purpose in life.

 …for it is God who works in you to will and to act according to his good purpose.(Phil. 2:13)

 

 

Leave a Reply

